Today, another diecast jet has been added to my JSDF Tomica Premium famiglia. I already have T-4 Blue Impulse Trainer Jet in my collection and with the addition of F-35 Lightning II, I’m taking my collection to another level. According to F35.com ,F-35 Lightning II is designed to counter most advanced airborne and ground-based threats making Japan’s Air capabilities a formidable force.

As of December 2018, Japan Ministry Of Defense announced it’s aquisition of F-35’s from 42 to 147 with a variety of F-35As and 42 STOVLS. This also coincide with the Japanese Cabinet’s approval of converting their helicopter carriers into aircraft carriers capable of operating F-35 jets. Other foreign operators of F-35 jets are Republic of Korea, Belgium, and Israel.

Going back to the diecast thing, when I unboxed it the jet has been disassembled into four parts. It also has a stand similar to the T-4 Blue Impulse Trainer Jet. The main part is of diecast material while the rest are plastic in nature. I’m pleased to have a small prototype of one of the most advanced fighter jet in the world.